Science Education


The philosophy of the Department of Teacher Education in Niger Delta University is to produce qualified, competent and professional teachers to teach various subjects at the Secondary School Level.

The programmes in the Department of Science Education in the Faculty of Education offer learning experiences to undergraduate students in specified areas of Instruction. Each programmes is aimed at producing manpower to take up teaching position in learning institutions and other private and public educational agencies.  Each programme is further designed in response to the educational demands in Nigeria for qualified and seasoned educationists in the various areas toward meeting the challenges of the 21st century.


Objectives of the B. Sc. (Ed) Science Programme

Equip teachers with intellectual skills in science subjects and to enable them function effectively as teachers in the schools;
Produce graduate teachers who will use their specialized training to give leadership in scientific demonstration, theoretical and practical expertise in teaching and workplace experiences;
Train Teachers who are conscious of the Scientific and Technological progress of the Nigeria Society and in a global perspective;
Develop highly motivated professionally driven conscientious science teachers in the demonstration of classroom experience; and
Encourage graduate science teachers who possess expanded academic and professional training in science and related disciplines for national scientific and technological development.

The Department of Science Education offers the following area(s);
* Bachelor of Education (B.Sc.Ed) Science Education,

Human Kinetics;
Integrated Science;
Mathematics and ;

Education and Development

Education and Politics

Teacher Education and Development

Human Resources Capacity Building and Institutional Reform


HOD Science Education – Dr. (Mrs.) Nateinyin J. Akporehwe

Academic Staff

S/N Names Rank
1 . Akporehwe Nateinyin Joy Assoc. Professor view profile
2 . Hamilton-Ekeke Joy-Telu Assoc. Professor view profile
3 . Igbojinwaekwu Patrick C. Assoc. Professor view profile
4 . Diepiribo Adata D.T Senior Lecturer view profile
5 . John B. Moses Lecturer I view profile
6 . Fredrick-Jonah Toinpre M. Toinpere Lecturer I view profile
7 . Odual .N. Nizoloman Lecturer I view profile
8 . Inengite Idisape Lecturer I view profile
9 . Doubrapade Walker Lecturer II view profile
10 . Aggrey Olotu Lecturer II view profile
11 . Okou Fedein T. Lecturer II view profile

Lecturer Statistics

Professor 0
Associate Professor 3
Senior Lecturer 1
Lecturer I 4
Lecturer II 3
Assistant Lecturer 0
Graduate Assistant 0
Year 1 Male Students    ——– Female Students    ——–
Year 2 Male Students    ——– Female Students     ———
Year 3 Male Students    ——— Female Students    ——–
Year 4 Male Students    ——— Female Students    ———
Year 5 Male Students    ——– Female Students    ———

study education

Undergraduate Programme

Duration: 4 years

Lectures: 10

Male Lecturers: 7

Female Lectures: 4

Max retakes: 5