Department of Philosophy


To study Philosophy so as to discover, establish or preserve truth.
To explore mainly what obtains in the Niger delta and beyond, projecting them to the outside world as part of its contribution to knowledge in the field of philosophy.


* To prepare men and women to be worthy citizens, in the service of their country.


* To orient students towards developing a broad mind spectrum conducive of a pluralistic society such as Nigeria.


* To explore western, oriental and African philosophical traditions and their relevance to contemporary Nigerian society.

The Department of Philosophy offers the following area(s);


i)  Bachelor of Arts (B.A. Hons) in Philosophy.

Moral Philosophy

Natural Philosophy

Metaphysical Philosophy

HOD Philosophy – Prof. Aghe Eresia-Eke

Academic Staff

S/N Names Rank
1 Onyagholo Azibalua Senior Lecturer view profile
2 Agha Eresia-Eke Professor view profile
3 Udisi Ebikisei Stanley Senior Lecturer view profile
4 Bumeigha Samuel Aveke Lecturer I view profile
5 Elias Edise Courson Lecturer I view profile
6 Fred Okechukwu Lecturer I view profile
7 Owutuamor Andabolo Ebimieowei Lecturer I view profile
8 Mark Doubara Ekperi Assistant Lecturer view profile

Lecturer Statistics

Professor 1
Associate Professor Nil
Senior Lecturer 2
Lecturer I 4
Lecturer II Nil
Assistant Lecturer 1
Graduate Assistant Nil
Year 1 Male Students   34 Female Students   48
Year 2 Male Students   21 Female Students   26
Year 3 Male Students    14 Female Students   18
Year 4 Male Students   49 Female Students    53
Year 5 Male Students    ——– Female Students    ———

STUDY Philosophy and Religious Studies

NDU Philosophy and Religious Studies Programme

Duration: 4 years

Male Lecturers: 8

Female Lecturers: Nil

Pass Percentage: 60

Max Retakes: 5