Department of Chemical Sciences



The vision is to prepare students for solving some of society’s most important human health, energy, and environmental problems of the 21st century through world-class education and research in the chemical sciences.



The mission is to produce students who are knowledgeable in chemistry, and can think critically in advancing the chemical sciences through education by providing them with quality classroom, research and service opportunities, with a high standard for excellence.

The Department of Chemical Sciences offers the following programmes;
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc)

  • Lewis Structure Study.
  • Stoichiometry & Mole Concept.
  • Atomic Structure Progressive Scale Grading.
  • Electrolysis & Low-level Extraction.
  • Dihydroxyacetone Phosphate Conversion.
  • Electronegative Atoms & Physical Bonding


Head of Department – Dr. Jackson Godwin

Academic Staff

S/N Names Rank
1 Benson Oguarabau Lecturer I view profile
2 Godwin Jackson Senior Lecturer view profile
3 Donbebe Wankasi Professor view profile
4 Ezekiel Dixon Dikio Professor view profile
5 Inengite Azibaola Kesiye Professor view profile
6 Tarawou Timi J.F. Professor view profile
7 Abasi Cyprian Y. Associate Professor view profile
8 Amos-Tautua Bamidele Martin Senior Lecturer view profile
9 Kemeakegha J. Ayasen Senior Lecturer view profile
10 Leizou K. Elijah Senior Lecturer view profile
11 Markmanuel Douye Parkinson Senior Lecturer view profile
12 Young Erepamowei Senior Lecturer view profile
13 Orodu Victor Enearepuadoh Lecturer I view profile
14 Ebelegi Newton Augustus Lecturer II view profile
15 Nimibofa Ayawei Lecturer II view profile

Lecturer Statistics

Professor 2
Associate Professor 3
Senior Lecturer 4
Lecturer I 4
Lecturer II 2
Assistant Lecturer ———
Graduate Assistant ———
Year 1 Male Students    ——– Female Students    ——–
Year 2 Male Students    ——– Female Students     ———
Year 3 Male Students    ——— Female Students    ——–
Year 4 Male Students    ——— Female Students    ———
Year 5 Male Students    ——– Female Students    ———

study chemical science

Undergraduate Programme

Duration: 4 years

Class Attendance: 70%

Semesters: 8

Male Lecturers: 50

Female Lecturers: 30